## University of North Texas Health Science Center Special Graduate Council Meeting March 24, 2009

**RECORDING**: Carla Lee PRESIDING: Jamboor K. Vishwanatha **MEETING TIME:** 2:00 - 4:20 PM**MEETING LOCATION:** 

EAD-810

**PRESENT:** Berg, Caffrey (for Downey), Clark, Dasgupta, Grant, Griffith, Gwirtz, Kaman, Kim, Lee, Mallet , Ondricek, Planz, Raven, Reeves, Siede, and Singh Basu, Cardarelli, Cruser, Forster, Kumar and Smith **ABSENT:** 

Topic/Agenda Item	Discussion/Conclusion	Action/Recommendation	Responsible Person(s)
Selection of Students for Deans Awards	Graduate advisors presented the nominees and ballots were distributed. Scott Duncan, Ph.D. was selected as the recipient of the Dean's Award for Scholarly Excellence in Research. Ph.D. Candidate Lorie Gonzalez was selected as the recipient of the Dean's Award for Scholarly Excellence in Academics. They will be considered for the Chancellor's Award for Scholarly Excellence in Research and the President's Award for Scholarly Excellence in Academics, respectively.	Forward recipients' names to the Division of Student Affairs to be entered into consideration for Chancellor's and President's awards.	Ms. Lee
Grant Writing (BMSC 6310)	<ul> <li>Dr. Berg chaired an <i>ad hoc</i> committee to study issues related to Grant Writing (BMSC 6310). The committee's study was presented and discussion was held.</li> <li>The committee was charged with continuing to address the issues brought up in discussion.</li> <li>Dr. Singh moved to limit the pages allowed in the grant prepared for Grant Writing (BMSC 6310) to a maximum of 15 pages. The motion further stated that the grant should be adapted to the style of an NRSA fellowship or R21 and must be prepared for electronic submission. Dr. Mallet seconded. Motion carried.</li> </ul>	Bring revised Grant Writing (BMSC 6310) form back to Council for further review. Bring further recommendations back to Council at a later date. Update UNTHSC Catalog 2009-10	Ms. Lee Dr. Berg Ms. Lee