University of North Texas Health Science Center Graduate Council Meeting April 8, 2010

RECORDING:Carla J. LeeMEETING TIME:3:05 – 4:00 PMPRESIDING:Jamboor K. VishwanathaMEETING LOCATION:EAD-810

PRESENT: Basu, Berg, Clark, Downey, Forster, Fulda, Gwirtz, Lee, Mallet, Ondricek, Poteet, Prokai, Schetz, Siede, Smith, Sumien, Vishwanatha

ABSENT: Cruser, Ghorpade, Kaman, Kemp, Planz, Reeves, Singh, Griffith

Topic/Agenda Item	Discussion/Conclusion	Action/Recommendation	Responsible Person(s)
Approval of March 2010	Dr. Clark moved to approve the March 2010 meeting minutes	Post to GSBS website.	Ms. Lee
Meeting Minutes	with corrections. Dr. Fulda seconded. Motion carried.		
Tracking	Final spreadsheets for Summer/Fall 2010 traditional applications were discussed.		
	Dean Vishwanatha announced plans to increase graduate assistantships by \$2000 for 2010-11. Official announcements will be distributed by e-mail soon.	Distribute written announcements	Dean Vishwanatha
Faculty Appointments	Dr. Mallet moved to approve Kendi Hensel, D.O., Ph.D. for Category II Graduate Faculty status. Dr. Kumar seconded. Motion carried.	Notify Dr. Hensel	Ms. Lee
Graduate Student Association	Ms. Ondricek updated Council on GSA activities including Relay for Life activities, officer elections, and award voting.	No action required.	
Library Update	Mr. Smith updated Council on options for quarantining electronic dissertations and theses.	No action required	
Sigma Xi Nominations	Dr. Mallet moved to nominate Adam Fields, Sarabeth Graham, Kirti Jain, Byung-Jin Kim, Soumya Krishnamurthy, Ethan Poteet and Anupam Sule for associate membership in Sigma Xi. Dr. Clark seconded. Motion carried.	Submit nominations to national membership committee.	Ms. Lee
Dean's Award for Scholarly Excellence in Academics	Nominees for the Dean's Award for Scholarly Excellence in Academics were discussed. Council members voted by ballot and selected Karen Meeks, Ph.D. as the 2009-10 recipient.	Compile nomination dossier and forward to Division of Student Affairs for consideration for the President's Award	Ms. Lee
Dean's Award for Scholarly Excellence in Research	Nominees for the Dean's Award for Scholarly Excellence in Research were discussed. Council members voted by ballot and selected Navin Rauniyar as the 2009-10 recipient.	Compile nomination dossier and forward to Division of Student Affairs for consideration for the Chancellor's Award	Ms. Lee

University of North Texas Health Science Center Graduate Council Meeting April 8, 2010

Announcements	The First Quarter 2010 Dean's Toast will be Tuesday, April 13, 2010, in the EAD-Atrium, at 5:00 pm
	The GSBS Awards Banquet will be Friday, May 7, 2010, 7:00 p.m. at the Cultural District Banquet Center.
	Spring 2010 grades are due Wednesday, May 12, 2010.
	Commencement Exercises will be held on Saturday, May 15, 2010, at Daniel Meyer Coliseum on the campus of Texas Christian University. The ceremony begins at 3:00 p.m.