



Congratulations to TCOM students for winning the Texas Pediatric Society's Poster Awards

TCOM's students who participated in the Pediatric Research Program won two of the three *First Place* awards in the 2018 annual Texas Pediatric Society's E-Poster Contest.

Category: Evidence Based Medicine/QI

Presenter: Tesneem Issa

Presenter's Institution: UNTHSC/TCOM

Poster Title: Evaluation of a Sepsis Screen Tool's Impact on PICU Organ Dysfunction Authors: Tesneem Issa, Julian Nguyen, Javier Gelvez, Lorrainea Williams, Charity

Darnell, Tyler Hamby

Category: Single or Multiple Case Presentation

Presenter: James Meiling

Presenter's Institution: UNTHSC/TCOM

Poster Title: Recurrent Migraines as the Presenting Symptom in Pediatric Multiple

Sclerosis: A Case Report

Authors: James B. Meiling, Priya K. Bui

Please click the link for further details: https://txpeds.org/2018-e-poster-winners

Congratulations to all Authors

Program Committee
Pediatric Research Program



Texas Pediatric Society, The Texas Chapter of the AAP 401 West 15th Street, Suite 682 Austin, Texas 78701-1665 Phone (512) 370-1506 • FAX (512) 473-8659 • txpeds.org

Executive Director

Tricia Hall, CAE, CMP (512) 370.1506 tricia.hall@txpeds.org

Director of Special Programs

& TPS Foundation

Amy White, CAE (512) 370.1519 amy.white@txpeds.org

Director of Advocacy & Health Policy

Clayton Travis, MSSW (512) 370.1516 clayton.travis@txpeds.org

Member Services Manager

Crystal Healey, CAE (512) 370.1517 crystal.healey@txpeds.org

Public Health Education Manager

Kellie Dees (512) 370.1509 kellie.dees@txpeds.org

2017 - 2018 Officers President

Dennis A. Conrad, MD

President-Elect Ben G. Raimer, MD

Immediate Past President

Joyce Elizabeth Mauk, MD

Chapter Chair

Kimberly Avila Edwards, MD

Alternate Chapter Chair Mark A. Ward, MD

Secretary-Treasurer

Tammy Camp, MD

TMA Delegate Ryan Van Ramshorst, MD

Alt. TMA Delegate

Charleta Guillory, MD

Region Chairs

Seth Kaplan, MD - North Susan Wootton, MD - East Alison Ziari, MD - South/Central Lara Johnson, MD - West

Member-at-Large

Lori Anderson, MD Valerie Smith, MD

Member-at-Large **Department/Resident Head**

Robert Nelson, MD

Early Career Physician Representative

Marjan Linnell, MD

Resident Representative

Miranda Loh, MD

Alt. Resident Representative

Flora Nunez-Gallegos, MD

Medical Student Representative Natalia Philpott

Alt. Medical Student Representative

Nancy Shenoi

July 13, 2018

Paul Bowman, MD UNTHSC Pediatric Preceptorship Advisory Committee 855 Montgomery St. Fort Worth, TX 76107

Dear Dr. Bowman,

Since the inception of the TPS E-Poster Contest in 2004, the Texas Pediatric Society (TPS), the TX Chapter of the AAP, invites Medical Students, Residents, and Fellows, who are enrolled in a Texas program and are current TPS members, to participate in an electronic poster contest coordinated by the TPS Committee on Medical Education.

It is with great excitement that we inform your program of the winners for the three categories: Single or Multiple Case Presentation, Evidence Based Medicine and Quality Improvement, and Hypothesis-Driven Project (Child Advocacy is encouraged under Evidence Based Medicine and Hypothesis-Driven Project). The winners can be viewed at https://txpeds.org/2018-e-poster-winners.

Your support is vital to the continuation of this academic experience so that TPS can continue to offer the opportunity to engage, recognize, and create professional networks for our resident/fellow and medical student members. Because of your support, we received the highest number of submissions in contest history!

The primary authors are invited to accept their award and cash prize which will be presented by the TPS President at the Annual TPS Awards Luncheon. Posters will be displayed on Saturday, September 8, and winners are welcome to be present during this time. Travel expenses are reimbursed up to \$250 for the First-Place winners. We look forward to seeing you there to honor the recipients.

If you are interested in attending the Awards Luncheon to support your program, please visit www.txpeds.org/annual-meeting for registration information.

TPS is honored and proud of the work submitted by your program this year.

For further inquiries or more information on the TPS E-Poster Contest, please contact the TPS Member Services Manager at membership@txpeds.org or (512) 370-1517.

Sincerely,

Dennis A. Conrad, MO

Dennis A. Conrad **TPS President**